Sidebar

Fri, Nov

Typography
Amidst a slight drizzle and overcast skies I strolled into the Hasely Crawford Stadium around 4:45 PM.

I was greeted by the usual vendors at the entrance, hawking their rags, flags and other Trini paraphernalia and after disappointing an old pleasantly plump lady with a gold tooth. I met three Bmobile workers giving away balloons and Soca Warrior posters.

Needless to say, the crowd or lack thereof was easy to navigate and after a few handshakes, I was at the front of the line in the ticket booth. After enquiring about discounts and getting a sarcastic/vexed look from the attendant in the booth, I grudgingly handed over my Dookeran and received a blue ticket in return.

I then flipped out the cell, called a few WN members and enquired as to their whereabouts. Patriot was snug in covered stands and was being cautious of the overcast conditions. Andre Samuel and Cowen were parking up and Swima was on his way.

There were only two gates open in the uncovered section. However from the poor turnout at that time, it was sufficient, as there was no line and I walked in easy easy.

The Warrior Nation crew were present and they occupied an extremely good vantage point near the half line. My apologies go out to anyone who I may not have mentioned.
Present were Oconnorg, Nobodys Angel, Reaper2004, Girl Warrior, Andre Samuel, Cowen, Troy Piloy, Dom Basil Swima,  Shotta, Morvantman who was dressed to kill in a red/black/white retro Jordan and fitted cap, Weary1969 and about 8 other people clad in Warrior Nation Jerseys.

One of the WN members came prepared and brought a towel to wipe the seats which were wet from the mornings showers. Much thanks, yuh save plenty people from a wet bumsee.

The action on the field was a one sided affair, the Under 17 team wearing red uniforms were playing the Under 17 presidents XI in white and the score I was told was 6-0 in favour of the Jr. Warriors. From the remaining 20 min that I saw, the white team did not touch the ball, or do anything constructive as they were totally outclassed by the Jr. Warriors. The lil fellas did the usual and stroked the ball around in the back, maintaining possession and then playing a long ball to the flank, they looked a bit fitter and more polished since their last outing vs Jamaica. Improvement noted.

Meanwhile the senior team members came out to take a look at the proceedings and sat along the railing of the mondo track. It gave the children and eager adult fans the chance to get autographs, to which the players obliged, Carlos Edwards and Chris Birchall giving the fans the most time and attention. In the interval between the games, the WN crew and other children in the area were privy to the skills of Girl Warrior who was quite creative with her Balloon Animal creations.

The respective teams then appeared on the field for their warm up drills and the TT team did the usual.

The first 11 had discs/cones marked off in the various positions on the field and each player did some passing, stretching and small drills. The subs were playing a one touch game near the covered section and the goalies were put through their paces with Michael Maurice.

Then the starting team did some small shuttles and limbering exercises in a line followed but a bibs vs shirts two touch possession game.

The most noticeable thing was that Stern John was fit….folks we cannot call him half-slab anymore the fella drop all the fat on his frame and is significantly leaner, he was much more mobile and this was reflected by his performance on the field. Well done Stern, you looking like Columbus Crew/Forest days.

The Vincey players did their thing, running around, stretching etc. A few of them had Rasta Hairstyles and they were taller than the TT players however they were noticeably thinner.

After the teams took the field the anthems were played by the Woodbrook Play Boyz and a comment was made by Anil Roberts over the PA system that they were there in the beginning but were not there in the end.

Anil also told us to give ourselves a round of applause as we were the “Real Fans” of TT football all two thousand of us.

Also Anil Roberts and the other MC made a glaring mistake and informed the crowd that Stern John was playing in his 100th game for T+T …….of course the WN faithful knew this info to be incorrect and in the second half Anil made the correction and apology to Stern and the Fans.

The game started with T+T playing in a 4-4-2 formation.

Williams between the sticks, Nigel Daniel at left back, Tallest and Atiba Charles in the stopper positions, Cyd at right back. Samuel, Birchall, Yorke and Edwards in the middle and Stern and Scotland up front.

The Vincey heat had the same formation and twwwweeeeeeettttt the ball was on the move with TT scoring on the Movietown side.

It was all TT, and we showed our class and pedigree. We are a WC side and we definitely outclassed St. Vincent in all areas of the field.

The first goal came courtesy a bullet from “Me Mum” in the 12th min or so of the game. A TT corner was flicked down towards the 18 and Birchall cracked one neatly into the far right corner. It may have gotten a deflection on the way in but that goal was just the start of things to come.

TT played the usual disciplined possession game. Stroking the ball around in the back, using the flanks and playing the occasional long ball to the strikers. I was very impressed by the passing ability of Yorke and Birchall who made some telling driven passes over 70 meters to Edwards and Samuel.

Everyone on the TT team played well however Colin Samuel took a little while to shake off the rust. For most of the first half he lost possession easily and his first touch was like a wall. However 10 minutes before the end he settled down, started to beat his marker efficiently and put in the telling cross. His moment of glory in the first half came after he snaked pass 3 defenders and attempted a cross/shot which took the keeper by surprise and nearly crept in at the far post.

Stern was on fire….yes folks Stern was running for ball, Stern was beating and running past men and he hit two Vincey players a drag. The stern turn was back and I can’t lie he looks a completely different player.

Carlos Edwards had the Vincey Left wing, Left back and first stopper calling him Daddy.
The amount of fan, inch beat, pull back, roly-poly and wrong address them get…especially the Rasta left back…I feel they go have to visit a chiropractor sometime soon. After a while they just couldn’t take it any more and resorted to the Hack and Slash tactics to save face.

The second goal came courtesy Stern “bound to score” John…….cross comes in and Stern on the volley connects with his left foot and the ball nestles in the back of the net.

Stern also thought he got his third when he expertly turned his marker, ran past another and let fly a bullet from the top of the 18. It look like sure goal….however he was denied by the cross bar. But it look good….I say Whey!!!

Yorke was playing like the true leader on the team, Birchall was cracking the bullet when he got the chance, Edwards was beating men and Scotland got a chance at the top of the 6 yrd box that he should have buried. Cyd gave away the ball a few times, nuttin major but I was displeased by Tallest as he was not tackling but escorting the Vincey fwds when ever the attempted a counter. Atiba was solid but at times a little miscommunication resulted in a errant pass and opportunity for Vincey to capitalize.
Also I was very pleased with the performance of Nigel Daniel. For a while I thought he had the necessary skills to make the team and he made good use of last nights opportunity. Good solid performance, good runs up the flank and some neat accurate crosses.

At the half it was 2-0 and I mingled with MorvantMan and the other forumites.
The price of Stag has remained at 10$ but pies have gorn up to 5$ for one and nuts…..Oh Lorse nuts are now 3$  per bag….Budget Price they claim.

The second half kicked off with Stern scoring a Bess goal…..when I tell you skill.
Forumites Stern collects a long ball. Turns his marker, races towards the last defender, body fakes him and hits the defender a sex. Reaches in the area fakes the keeper and slots it past him….effortlessly and at Top Speed……… I say WHEEEYYYY.

For a brief instant…Stern look like Thierry Henry.

After that the Vinceys realizing that they were going nowhere very quickly resorted to fouling Stern, Scotland et al.

The beat of the second half was the Vincey right back collecting a body fake and spanner near the Covered stands on the line from Jason Scotland at top speed……WHAP WHAP…Scotland goes towards goal and the Vincey player is on his bottom normal on the grass.

The beat was so nasty it prompted Anil Roberts to come over the loudspeaker….official, official like an announcement  and say “Ladies and Gentlemen…in the 49th minute. A spanner by Jason Scotland”

Then things started to get nasty and a Vincey was given marching orders for a foul on Stern.

The resulting free kick was taken by our Captain from about 20 yards out. I don’t really know where that ball passed but he squeezed it far post with the keeper looking like he had the angle covered.

4-0 and No hope for St Vincent….another fella get vexed and play he pelting blade. Red card for he too and the Vincey Heat were thoroughly cooled down and down to 9 men.

It was then they actually started to play alright and look ok. They had 5 men the back. Three in the middle and they tried to spring counters, beat and pass the ball. But really they just couldn’t make a note. All credit must be given to their keeper who pulled off a few saves and kept the scoreline…ahem…respectable.

Jones, Toussaint and Baptiste came on and upon Baptiste’s arrival a through ball was played in…He and Kenwyne sprinted for it and Baptiste with his first touch of the ball slots the ball past the keeper to make the score 5-0.

“We want one more” was the chant from the crowd and with 5 min to go it seemed a six or seven goal feast was on the cards. But Vincey played keep away and activated damage control.

There were some questionable calls being made by the linesman and while we know Stern is offside Champion, there were many instances where it seemed the linesman just didn’t get it right.

On Wed look for another polished display from the Warriors and I hope they do not retire and that the money issue is sorted out quickly.

Panama alyuh will get sorfen on WED.

Till next time.