Sidebar

Fri, Jan

1976 FC Phoenix's Che Richards (#17) is tackled by a Prison Service FC player during their TTPFL match at Ken Cooke Ground, Police Barracks, St. James on Sunday, December 22nd 2024.
Typography

“THIS is something new for myself, and I know it will be new for the entire football fraternity as to well,” stated Defence Force head coach and former national captain Densill “Bleeder” Theobald, “I think it’s something we should always look forward to; see how it goes, and if it could be replicated for the future.”

Professional football is being played in Trinidad and Tobago for the first time on Boxing Day, today. The historic first Boxing Day of action will see three double-headers take place at the Arima Velodrome, the Ken Cooke Ground at the Police Barracks in St James and Mahaica Oval in Point Fortin.

In Arima, the top three teams in the league, joint leaders Defence Force and Central FC, along with champions AC Port of Spain and the rebuilding Terminix La Horquetta Rangers are all in action. In addition to football, there will also be performances by entertainers Yung Bredda and Sackie, plus sets from DJs Tommy Shmurda and DJ Nassio.

At the PFL’s season launch, T&T Football Association (TTFA) president Kieron Edwards said that not having a Christmas break was to ensure that players remain fine-tuned and fit for action in the coming year, particularly for the country’s senior national team which will be involved in the CONCACAF Gold Cup preliminaries in March and the FIFA World Cup Qualifiers.

“We normally would have gone through the years playing football up to Christmas and then break, but the players would not be training, and they’re not playing football but just liming, drinking and eating food with family and then when they come back out after the Christmas break, they have to get back into motion,” Edward stated, adding, “and this would hinder the first (FIFA international) window with our national team. So it’s a holistic approach to why we want to play football through the Christmas period.”

And with his team leading the local professional league, Theobald has welcomed the initiative to have football playing on Boxing Day for the first time.

Defence Force, inaugural TTPFL champions in 2022, spend Boxing Day facing a youthful Terminix La Horquetta Rangers and Theobald is looking forward to it. Arima has become a sort of home for Defence Force over the years, and they have won their first two matches of the season a few miles away at La Horquetta, and then smashed a not-so-bad Cunupia Eagles 6-0 at the Velodrome on Saturday.

“I welcome the football during the festive season and I know the public will look forward to the matches that would be on display,” Theobald stated.

At champions AC Port of Spain, however, sporting director Gilbert Bateau recognises the significance of Boxing Day football around the world, but is not sure that the PFL is ready for it financially and otherwise.

“It might be new to Trinidad and Tobago but that is a big derby (day) outside,” stated Bateau, whose “Capital Boys” face revitalised former three-time T&T Pro League champions Central FC, who are joint–leaders with Defence Force, having won their opening three matches.

“We don’t welcome it because a lot of things not in place to get that atmosphere going,” Bateau said. “But at the end of the day, the game has to play.”

Heavily subsidised, local professional football is entirely dependent on the release of Government money, with the sponsoring Sports Company of Trinidad and Tobago and the TTFA usually having to wait a few months after the National Budget is read to receive funds.

So while Defence Force, whose players are mainly salaried soldiers, could begin training two months prior to the season kick-off, at AC Port of Spain, the champions only began training a week before the start of competition.

“There are some financial issues going on with most of the clubs,” Bateau admitted. “Most of the guys would have received their contracts very late, so it would have hindered a sharper start to the tournament.”

One of the veteran coaches of the local pro game, Bateau does not ever remember professional football being played over the Christmas holidays. He explained that in the past, the league could afford to take breaks because the season was long, consisting of three rounds of football and several knockout tournaments. Now, because of financial constraints, the league is short, involving just two rounds and usually must end by May to fit the criteria for Caribbean Cup club qualifying.

“With three rounds of football you would have had stoppages during the League, but with money not being there (now), they just want to complete a league (season),” Bateau explained. “The league would close off and you would have had one league game in December, then you close off and resume the next year.”

Likewise, Theobald, a former Joe Public and Caledonia AIA midfielder, had never played professional football on Boxing Day.

“Since my playing days and even my coaching days, I have never experienced playing football during a festive season,” Theobald said. “I know usually there is always a break, the last game is always played around the 20th to cater for the Christmas and the New Year, with a resumption in the first week of January.”

However, Theobald has taken a practical view of the Boxing Day matches.

“We have already started (the competition) late, and because of the late start of the League, to have a break now after already playing three matches, I think it will not be good for the rhythm, not only of my organisation but the League entirely.”

UPCOMING TTPFL MATCHES:

Today

Venue — Arima Velodrome, Arima

5:00pm: Athletic Club Port of Spain vs Central FC Reboot

7:00pm: Defence Force vs Terminix La Horquetta Rangers

Admission - Adults $60. Children under 12 free.

Venue — Ken Cooke Ground, Police Barracks, St James

5 p.m.: Caledonia AIA v FC Phoenix

7 p.m.: Miscellenous Police FC vs Prison FC

Venue — Mahaica Oval, Pt Fortin

6 p.m.: Club Sando vs FC Eagles

8 p.m.: Point Fortin Civic vs San Juan Jabloteh

SOURCE: T&T Express